乐理的基础知识 | Hub Guitar

乐理的基础知识

为什么要学习乐理?

可能一些世界级的吉他大师也甚少能够回答这个问题。许多吉他新手看到一些奇奇怪怪的图表或是原点和线,还是不相信这些是互相关联的。业余演奏手经常拒绝学习乐理,他们觉得乐理是没用的。书上面写的或者网上的对乐理的解释已经过时了—甚至更糟的是,是由那些对乐理其实一无所知的人写的。由于现实和理论的脱节,学多新手将这些重要的只是全部丢弃,直到许多年后才意识到。

学习乐理不是可选择的,而是必须的任务。所有的音乐家都会有一个系统来理解音乐是怎样工作的,这些系统可以被标准化或是作为演奏者自己独有的非正式话的见解。一旦你开始与其他乐手一起演奏,或与世界上各种各样的音乐形式接触后,理解标准音乐理论就显得格外重要。学习这个系统其实更快, 因为它已经存在于这里了。就比如你没道理重新发明新的代数法一样。

本日目标

下面我们要学习一些音乐术语。

音乐

音乐 是对声音有意识的安排。可以是让人愉快的声音,也可以是令人恐惧的声音等等。

音高

音高 是声音相对的高度或低度。如果你弹 open A 弦,会发出低音,如果你弹拨第七品位上的弦,会发出比较高的音。音高也用来表示音准的程度,大多数音乐人同意这种说法,任一音符都代表了一个科学性的音高。吉他上第七品位的 “A” 应该产生440hz的振动,也就是每秒钟440次的循环。如果你现在弹奏A音,然后听一下标准的A音,如果你的音太高或太低,就说明你走音了。

节奏

节奏 是以时间为基础的音乐组合。有些节奏包含了音高 (例如吉他扫弦),但其余的声音是很复杂的,而且不被认为是音高。想像两块木砖互相敲打,发出的声音或高或低,但大多数人并不把这当作音乐的音符。 演奏者跟着拍子弹出节奏,就叫节拍,用术语表达就是 beats per minute (BPM)。演奏者用 100BPM 的速度将会弹奏出这个节拍韵律的节奏。比如,他每两拍弹一次,或每一拍弹两次,后者就叫作节奏细分:一拍被等分为两份。

泛音

泛音 是多个音高同时发出声响。我们可以通过结合不同的音高,创造出不同感觉的声音。尝试着弹一个 C大调和弦,然后弹一个 小调和弦,这两个既相似又有不同的感觉。一个泛音中有约多的音高,它就越复杂。所有被同时弹奏的音高会带给泛音它独特的感觉。如果你弹 C音,然后我弹 E,另外一个人唱 G音,我们就会创造出 C大调和弦—泛音。

旋律

旋律 就是一系列的音高,通常比音乐中其他音高,它们随着时间释放,就像告诉你一个故事。在流行音乐中,旋律是歌手唱出来的一部分,而且泛音一定至少存在于另一种乐器中。旋律是使人们记住这首歌的最重要的因素,大多数人不能完完全全的记住某一个和弦是什么样的,但没有人会忘记旋律。

音色

音色 是让音符听上去特别的特性。想像一下你听到一个吉他手用吉他弹了一个音符,然后他唱出同一个音。如果你被蒙住眼睛,你大概也能轻易地分辨出哪个是吉他发出来的声音。这是因为,不谈节奏和音高,每一种音乐都有它们自己的特点,因为乐器和乐手的音色都不同。

力度

力度 是音乐的强和弱。在1791年,经典音乐编曲家Joseph Haydn 编写了交响曲 “Surprise Symphony.” 歌曲的开头听上去像低吟耳语,听者越凑越近,也还是难以听清。突然间,整个乐队突然弹了一个非常响的和弦,震惊了当时第一批享受这首交响乐的听众。这是早期乐坛上的好笑的事儿,Haydn当时可能边笑边走回家吧。然而当代音乐的音量的变化变少了,力度却依旧很重要。

本日目标

尽量用你自己的词汇来定义下面的音乐术语:

  • 音高
  • 节奏
  • 泛音
  • 旋律
  • 音色
  • 力度

©2018 Hub Guitar. All rights reserved.

Introduction to Music Theory | Hub Guitar

Introduction to Music Theory

Why Should You Learn Music Theory?

There are world-class guitar virtuosos who know little of music theory. Many new guitar players who see strange diagrams or dots and lines don’t believe these to be relevant. Amateur players often reject music theory as useless. The explanations of theory in books and online are outdated—or, worse, written by people who are clueless. Because of this disconnect, many new players miss out on important information.

The study of music theory is not optional; it is necessary.

All musicians develop systems to understand how music works. These systems can be the standard ones or the player’s own informal observations. As soon as one begins to play with other musicians and interact with the world of music, it becomes helpful to understand the formal system of music theory. It is also much quicker to learn this system, since it already exists. Why would you invent Algebra all over again, when it has already been discovered?

Key Terms

Music

Music is the intentional arrangement of sound. Sounds can be arranged to be pleasant or frightening, and anything in between.

Pitch

Pitch is the relative highness or lowness of a sound. If you play your A string open, it produces a low pitch. If you fret the string at fret XII, that’s a higher pitch. Pitch is also used to describe the accuracy of a note. Most musicians agree that any given note will represent a scientific pitch. “A” at fret XII of the guitar should produce a vibration of 440hz, which is 440 cycles per second. If you play your A and then listen to a correct A, and yours is too high or too low, then you are off pitch.

Rhythm

Rhythm is the time-based organization of sounds. Some rhythms contain pitches (such as a guitar being strummed), but other sounds are complex and are not thought of as pitched. Imagine two wood blocks hitting each other. The sound might seem high or low, but most people don’t hear it as a musical note. Musicians play rhythms along with a beat, called a tempo, expressed in the term beats per minute (BPM). A musician playing with a 100BPM tempo will play only rhythms that fit metrically into that tempo. For instance, he or she might play once per every two beats, or twice for each beat. The latter is called subdivision: the beats are divided into equal pieces.

Harmony

Harmony is the sound of multiple pitches ringing together. By combining pitches we can create sounds with different moods. Try playing a major chord, and then a minor chord; these are both similar yet they have very different mood. The more notes a harmony has, the more complex it is. All pitches that are played together will contribute to the harmony. If you play the note C, and I play the note E, and someone else sings the note G, we will be creating a C major chord—in harmony, together.

Melody

Melody is a series of pitches, usually higher than the rest of the music. They unfold over time to tell a story. In a popular song, the melody is the part that the singer sings, and the harmony is in at least one other instrument. Melody is one of the most important factors in making music memorable. Most humans won’t remember exactly what a chord sounds like, but nobody forgets a good melody.

Timbre

Timbre (pronounced TAM-ber) is the quality that makes a musical note sound unique. Imagine that you are hearing somebody play a note on the guitar and then they sing the same note out loud. If you were blindfolded, you could probably easily identify which sound the guitar made. This is because, in addition to rhythm and pitch, each musical sound will have its own character due to the timbre of the instrument and the instrument’s player.

Dynamics

Dynamics refers to the loudness or softness of the music. In 1791, classical composer Joseph Haydn composed a symphony that is now known as the “Surprise Symphony.” The opening theme begins like a soft whisper. The listener is on the edge of his seat, hardly able to hear it. Suddenly, the whole orchestra plays a very loud chord together, shocking the first audience that witnessed the symphony. This is an early example of a musical joke; Haydn might have laughed to himself all the way home. While there is less variation in volume in today’s music, dynamics are still important.

Key Task:

Be able to define, in your own words, the following terms:

  • Pitch
  • Rhythm
  • Harmony
  • Melody
  • Timbre
  • Dynamics

©2016 Hub Guitar. All rights reserved.